Skip to content

Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset

March 18, 2013

I have just bought the Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset on ebay and received it a couple of days ago. I was thoroughly impressed by its reputation and had to have one. I was also looking at the Tair 11A but I didn’t want to explode the budget I had in mind.

Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset.

I managed to get the Preset version, not the auto one, the difference being that the first one has 15 aperture blades while the latter only 6. When reading through reviews about this lens, I realized the preset one seemed to have a better IQ and a more pleasing bokeh. After all, why buy a “Bokeh Monster” and not go for the lens with the best one between the two.

Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset and its 15 aperture blades.

Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset wide open.

Granted the Tair 11A is a little sharper wide open from what I see, but still, the Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset isn’t loosing by a lot.

Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset and its sharpness wide open.

I haven’t had the time to really extensively test the lens yet, I did on the other hand played around with it just to make sure the merchandise was in proper condition. And it is.

Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset and its bokeh wide open.

I will definitely have a go at it this weekend, especially if it gets sunnier, I’m not comfortable walking around with an M42 lens attached to a body (no matter how weather sealed it is) only with a lens adapter.

One thing I have instantly noticed is the rather low contrast this lens procures. On the two example shots I posted above, I shot both at ISO 50, and only boosted the contrast a little. Not a lot, but still. Maybe the same thing that applied to the Minolta 500mm f/8 will work here as well, change the original lens hood with a longer one. It worked on the Minolta.

Stay tuned for more shots with the Pentacon 135mm f/2.8 Preset, it will eventually come :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

