Wildlife Shooting at the Biguglia Natural Reserve

We woke up really early for this one! While on the road the day before, we spotted some flamingos on the lake, I haven’t kept any of the shots from that evening simply because they were all unusable. It was my first time out with the Minolta 500mm f/8 reflex lens, and yes, it’s a hard one to master. Most of the shots I took at the Biguglia reserve have been out of focus, probably because I was on burst mode and continuous AF. I don’t have the dexterity to single shoot wildlife. We got at the lake sometime around 6.30 or 7am, went back to the spot found the day before, but this time I managed to get right on the shore. I realized a monopod would have probably been the best solution (note to self, buy one instead of trying to DIY my way out of everything – see below). The morning light was amazing, the sunrise was right where I needed the light to be, it was simply one of my best photography memory so far. You can find out more about the Biguglia Wildlife Reserve on the Internet, no doubt about that, I wouldn’t know what to say about it besides lots of different birds and an amazing environment for wildlife photography. This place was so poetic, I hope I managed to bring this feeling back to life through the photographs I decided to select for this set. Out of 600+ shots, I erased probably 450 to 500. Out of these 500, I kept 100. And I trimmed it all down to 32. That’s a nice 5.3% selection rate, that’s not too shabby I guess. I also have a set on an abandoned house on the middle of the lake, but it will come a little later. For now, enjoy this great set and let me know what you think!

One

Two

Three

Four

Five

Six

Seven

Eight

Nine

Ten

Eleven

Twelve

Thirteen

Fourteen

Fifteen

Sixteen

Seventeen

Eighteen

Nineteen

Twenty

Twenty One

Twenty Two

Twenty Three

Twenty Four

Twenty Five

Twenty Six

Twenty Seven

Twenty Eight

Twenty Nine

Thirty

And just for the fun of it, here’s what I used as a monopod for half the time I was there:

Leave a Reply

